Lady of the English

Fiction & Literature
Cover of the book Lady of the English by Elizabeth Chadwick, Sourcebooks
View on Amazon View on AbeBooks View on Kobo View on B.Depository View on eBay View on Walmart
Author: Elizabeth Chadwick ISBN: 9781402250934
Publisher: Sourcebooks Publication: September 1, 2011
Imprint: Sourcebooks Landmark Language: English
Author: Elizabeth Chadwick
ISBN: 9781402250934
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication: September 1, 2011
Imprint: Sourcebooks Landmark
Language: English

From USA Today bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick comes a gripping, never-before-told, medieval battle of the sexes

Matilda, daughter of Henry I, knows that there are those who will not accept her as England's queen when her father dies. But the men who support her rival, and cousin, Stephen do not know the iron will that drives her. She will win her inheritance against all odds, and despite all men.

Adeliza, Henry's widowed queen and Matilda's stepmother, is now married to William D'Albini, a warrior who is fighting to keep Matilda off the throne. But Adeliza, born with a strength that can sustain her through heartrending pain, knows that the crown belongs to a woman this time.

Both women will stand and fight for what they know is right. But for Matilda, pride comes before a fall. And for Adeliza, even the deepest love is no proof against fate.

Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Lady of the English is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will be spellbound by this well-crafted story of Henry I's daughter, his widow, and their alliance and perseverance as they fight for the rightful heir to the crown—a woman!

What reviewers are saying about Lady of the English
"Lady of the English is a riveting historical fiction novel with thrilling drama and characters that fairly leap off of the page."—Laura's Reviews
"A detailed and very readable medieval era novel full of political intrigue and fascinating depictions of the people surrounding the throne of England."—Historical-Fiction.com
"The story is vividly described with a depth of historical detail that is rarely matched by other novelists in the genre."—Historical Novel Review Blog

 

View on Amazon View on AbeBooks View on Kobo View on B.Depository View on eBay View on Walmart

From USA Today bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick comes a gripping, never-before-told, medieval battle of the sexes

Matilda, daughter of Henry I, knows that there are those who will not accept her as England's queen when her father dies. But the men who support her rival, and cousin, Stephen do not know the iron will that drives her. She will win her inheritance against all odds, and despite all men.

Adeliza, Henry's widowed queen and Matilda's stepmother, is now married to William D'Albini, a warrior who is fighting to keep Matilda off the throne. But Adeliza, born with a strength that can sustain her through heartrending pain, knows that the crown belongs to a woman this time.

Both women will stand and fight for what they know is right. But for Matilda, pride comes before a fall. And for Adeliza, even the deepest love is no proof against fate.

Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Lady of the English is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will be spellbound by this well-crafted story of Henry I's daughter, his widow, and their alliance and perseverance as they fight for the rightful heir to the crown—a woman!

What reviewers are saying about Lady of the English
"Lady of the English is a riveting historical fiction novel with thrilling drama and characters that fairly leap off of the page."—Laura's Reviews
"A detailed and very readable medieval era novel full of political intrigue and fascinating depictions of the people surrounding the throne of England."—Historical-Fiction.com
"The story is vividly described with a depth of historical detail that is rarely matched by other novelists in the genre."—Historical Novel Review Blog

 

More books from Sourcebooks

Cover of the book Fiske Guide to Colleges: The Ivy Leagues by Elizabeth Chadwick
Cover of the book The Baker's Daughter by Elizabeth Chadwick
Cover of the book Charmed by Elizabeth Chadwick
Cover of the book Concrete Desert by Elizabeth Chadwick
Cover of the book Murder to the Metal by Elizabeth Chadwick
Cover of the book Perfect Timing by Elizabeth Chadwick
Cover of the book A Promise of Ruin by Elizabeth Chadwick
Cover of the book Raising Children With Grit by Elizabeth Chadwick
Cover of the book The Significant Seven by Elizabeth Chadwick
Cover of the book The Old Buzzard Had It Coming by Elizabeth Chadwick
Cover of the book The American Patriot's Handbook by Elizabeth Chadwick
Cover of the book A Murder Unmentioned by Elizabeth Chadwick
Cover of the book Murder Underground by Elizabeth Chadwick
Cover of the book Loving Mr. Darcy by Elizabeth Chadwick
Cover of the book The Autism & ADHD Diet by Elizabeth Chadwick
We use our own "cookies" and third party cookies to improve services and to see statistical information. By using this website, you agree to our Privacy Policy